Dl Mar College Libraries Homepage
Resources for Everyone

General Reference| Current Events | Weather | Sports
Dictionaries, Quotations, Thesauri | Atlases and Maps
U.S. Government | Texas Government

General Reference

Corpus Christi Information
How Stuff Works -- http://www.howstuffworks.com/
Telephone Directories
Library Spot -- http://www.libraryspot.com
Automobile New & Used Price Guides -- http://www.edmunds.com/
Travel [Worldwide information on cities] -- http://travel.excite.com/
CIA Publications -- https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/index.html
CIA World Factbook -- https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/
infoplease.com-- http://www.infoplease.com
The Internet Public Library -- http://www.ipl.org/
U.S. Postal Service [Zip Codes, Postage Calculator, Etc.] -- http://www.usps.com/
The Obituary Page -- http://catless.ncl.ac.uk/Obituary/
Library of Congress -- http://www.loc.gov
Library of Congress Research and Reference Page -- http://www.loc.gov/rr/
Biography Database -- http://www.biography.com/search/index.jsp
Sperling's Best Places -- http://bestplaces.net/
Wikipedia -- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
 

News Organizations

ABCNews -- http://abcnews.go.com/
CBS News -- http://www.cbsnews.com/sections/home/main100.shtml
CNN interactive -- http://www.cnn.com/
Corpus Christi Caller-Times Interactive -- http://www.caller.com/
C-Span Online -- http://www.c-span.org/
Ecola's 24-Hour Newsstand -- http://www.ecola.com/
FOX News -- http://www.foxnews.com/
MSNBC -- http://www.msnbc.msn.com/
National Public Radio Online -- http://www.npr.org/
Newseum -- http://www.newseum.org/
The Online NewsHour -- http://www.pbs.org/newshour/
Time.com -- http://www.time.com/time/index.html
USA Today -- http://www.usatoday.com/


 
 

Weather

National Hurricane Center -- http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/
Interactive Weather Information Network -- http://iwin.nws.noaa.gov/iwin/main.html
The Weather Channel -- http://www.weather.com/


 
 

Sports

CBS Sportsline -- http://www.sportsline.com
CNNsi -- http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/
Fox Sports -- http://msn.foxsports.com
The Sporting News -- http://www.sportingnews.com
ESPN Sports -- http://espn.go.com/
@Bat: Official Site of Major League Baseball -- http://mlb.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/index.jsp
NBA.COM: Official Site of the National Basketball Association -- http://www.nba.com
NFL.COM: Official Site of the National Football League -- http://www.nfl.com
NHL.COM: National Hockey League Web Site -- http://www.nhl.com
NASCAR Online -- http://www.nascar.com
Speednet[auto racing news] -- http://www.indystar.com/sports/racing/
Surfer Resources -- http://www.sdsc.edu/surf/
Surfer Magazine -- http://www.surfermag.com
Great Outdoors Recreation Page--http://gorp.away.com/index.html
GolfWeb -- http://www.golfweb.com
USDA Forest Service Recreation Page -- http://www.fs.fed.us/recreation/


 
 

Dictionaries, Quotations & Thesauri

World English Dictionary -- http://dictionary.msn.com
ComputerUser.com High-Tech Dictionary -- http://www.computeruser.com/resources/dictionary/index.html
Acronym Finder -- http://www.acronymfinder.com
OneLook Dictionaries, The Faster Finder -- http://www.onelook.com/
American Sign Language Dictionary -- http://www.masterstech-home.com/ASLDict.html
Dictionary.com -- http://dictionary.reference.com/
Online Dictionary Link -- http://www.bubl.ac.uk/link/types/dictionaries.htm
WWWebster Dictionary -- http://www.m-w.com/netdict.htm
Library Spot -- http://www.libraryspot.com
Dictionary of Computing -- http://foldoc.doc.ic.ac.uk/foldoc/index.html
French/English Dictionary -- http://humanities.uchicago.edu/orgs/ARTFL/forms_unrest/FR-ENG.html
Bartleby.com (Internet Literature Publisher) -- http://www.bartleby.com/
Phrase Finder -- http://www.phrases.org.uk
Acronym Lookup -- http://www.ucc.ie/cgi-bin/acronym
Roget's Thesaurus -- http://thesaurus.reference.com/
Foreign Language Dictionaries -- http://www.facstaff.bucknell.edu/rbeard/diction.html
Library Terminology -- http://library.delmar.edu/library/LibLingo.htm
WordSpy -- http://wordspy.com/
 

Atlases & Maps

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection [University of Texas] -- http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html
Texas State Data Center Maps -- http://txsdc.utsa.edu
Census Maps -- http://tiger.census.gov/cgi-bin/mapbrowse-tbl/
Library Spot -- http://www.libraryspot.com
Xerox PARC Map Viewer -- Link not available at this time.
Yahoo!Maps [address look up and point to point navigation] -- http://maps.yahoo.com
Satellite views of Earth and Moon -- http://www.fourmilab.ch/earthview/vplanet.html
Mapquest [maps, distance and driving directions] -- www.mapquest.com
Rand-McNally -- http://www.randmcnally.com
Map Machine - National Geographic -- http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/index.html
World Atlas -- http://www.worldatlas.com/aatlas/world.htm
 

U.S. Government

Federal Government Web Locator -- http://www.infoctr.edu/fwl/
Insurance Programs for Children -- http://www.insurekidsnow.gov/
Legislative Information on the Internet (Thomas) -- http://thomas.loc.gov
U.S. House of Representatives -- http://www.house.gov
U.S. Senate -- http://www.senate.gov
The White House -- http://www.whitehouse.gov
ERIC Databases -- http://www.eric.ed.gov
Library of Congress Catalog -- http://www.loc.gov/catalog/
GPO Government Publications Office -- http://www.access.gpo.gov/
Library of Congress Authority File -- http://authorities.loc.gov
National Commission of Terrorist Acts Upon the United States -- http://www.9-11commission.gov/


 
 


Texas State Government

State of Texas Government Information -- http://info.texas.gov/ --see also www.state.tx.us
Texas Legislature Online -- http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/
Texas One: Information Resources for Business -- http://www.texas-one.org/
Texas Register -- http://lamb.sos.state.tx.us/texreg/
Texas Senate -- http://www.senate.state.tx.us/
Texas: Window on State Government -- http://www.window.state.tx.us/
What's New in Texas -- http://www.texas.gov/texas_whatsnew.html
City of Corpus Christi Home Page -- http://www.ci.corpus-christi.tx.us/

Del Mar College Libraries
101 Baldwin Blvd., Corpus Christi, TX 78404
Phone (361) 698-1310


Please send comments/suggestions to
Merry Bortz, Head of Library Electronic and Database Services
mbortz@delmar.edu

Last Updated on: